7th October 2019 | Views

Green Party Cathaoirleach election 2019 – two candidates go forward


As the Green Party looks towards the next decade and we set our ambitions higher than ever, the role of Party Cathaoirleach is one that will be heavily relied upon to help navigate the many opportunities and challenges to come.

Thankfully, two excellent candidates have been successfully nominated to go forward for election by the membership and succeed Cllr Roderic O’Gorman when he steps down after eight years:

Cllr Hazel Chu, from Dublin Bay South Greens

Cllr Pauline O’Reilly, from the Galway Greens

We are fortunate to have two candidates of such ability and dedication to the Green cause. Below please find a full list of all members who have provided their support to these candidates. The support of at least 30 paid-up members is required under the rules to secure a nomination.

Full information about voting and hustings have been emailed to all members.

Eoin Wilson

General Secretary


Hustings have been arranged to provide a forum where members can meet and hear directly from candidates about their vision for the Green Party and what they would like to accomplish in the role, if elected. All members are welcome to attend.

Cork –  Friday 18th October (Ambassador Hotel, 19:00)

Galway – Tuesday 22nd October (Harbour Hotel, 19:00)

Dublin – Friday 25th October (Madigans, O’Connell St, 19:00)

Enniskillen – Friday 1st November (The Ardhowen, 19:00)

List of Candidates’ Supporters

Cllr Hazel Chu, Dublin Bay South Greens

  1. Cllr Patrick Costello
  2. Cllr Hazel Chu
  3. Jen Callaghan
  4. Miranda O’Donnell
  5. Cllr Eva Dowling
  6. Kevin Mullen
  7. Dave Gosling
  8. Fiona Kearns
  9. Elizabeth Moore
  10. Jim Tevlin
  11. Billy Jones
  12. Marie O’Neill
  13. Mary O’Donnell
  14. Liz Denieffe
  15. John Gormley
  16. Hugh O’Donnell
  17. Conor Moloney
  18. Finn Purcell-Milton
  19. Patrick Dowling
  20. Vincent Dowling
  21. Cllr Steven Matthews 
  22. Conal O’Boyle
  23. Cllr Vanessa Liston
  24. Conan Connolly
  25. Theresa Storey
  26. Simon Western
  27. Ciaran Cuffe MEP
  28. David Morrison
  29. Cllr Deirdre Ní Fhloinn
  30. Darcy Lonergan 
  31. Máire O’Higgins
  32. Christopher Alan Mills
  33. Séamus McMenamin
  34. Cissy Nayiga
  35. Shirley Piggins
  36. Tony O’Grady
  37. Miren Maialen 
  38. Cllr David Healy
  39. Aengus Ó Corráin
  40. Sharon Waters
  41. Barry O’Donovan
  42. Ed Davitt
  43. Cllr Neasa Hourigan 
  44. Ted Bradley
  45. Eoin Hallissey

Cllr Pauline O’Reilly, Galway Greens

  1. Cllr Francis Noel Duffy 
  2. Cllr Oliver Moran
  3. Dominick Donnelly
  4. Catriona Reid
  5. Cllr Marc O Cathasaigh
  6. Cllr Ossian Smyth
  7. Cllr Liam Quaide
  8. Meabh Cody
  9. Mary Ryder
  10. Robert O’Sullivan
  11. Cllr Pippa Hackett
  12. Roisin Cuddihy
  13. Cllr Colette Finn
  14. Cllr Brian Leddin
  15. Cleo Murphy
  16. John Doody
  17. Tate Donnelly
  18. Cllr William Priestley 
  19. Sadhbh O Neill
  20. Cllr Séafra Ó Faoláin
  21. Brian McGrady
  22. Cllr Martina O’Connor
  23. Criodán Ó Murchú
  24. Mary Faherty
  25. Ciarán Winters
  26. Claire Hillery
  27. Eithne Lynch
  28. Cllr Peter Hamilton
  29. Cllr Vincent P Martin
  30. Donal Swan
  31. Cllr Alastair McKinstry
  32. Cllr Liam Sinclair 
  33. Cllr Simon Lee
  34. Tim Feeney
  35. Cllr Roisin Garvey
  36. Jackie Fox
  37. Máiréad Ní Chróinín
  38. Kevin Leyden
  39. Anne O’Donnell
  40. Cllr Daniel Dunne
  41. Cllr Daniel Whooley
  42. Seán Ó Buachalla
  43. Cllr Peter Kavanagh
  44. Cllr Hazel Smyth
  45. Cllr Jody Power
  46. Simon McKeagney
  47. Sheelagh Kilgarriff
  48. Margaret Sheehan
  49. Cllr Malcolm Noonan