Rotate your phone

Once that's done you'll be able to
experience the Green Party website perfectly.
29th June 2020 | Local Government, Press Releases

Green Party Chair Hazel Chu is new Lord Mayor of Dublin


The Green Party are today celebrating the election of Party Chair Hazel Chu as the 352nd Lord Mayor of Dublin. Ms Chu was elected as the capital’s First Citizen in a full vote of the Council at and will be it’s 9th female Lord Mayor, and the first born to migrant parents.

The vote of the 63 Dublin City Councillors took place in the Round Room of the Mansion House in Dublin this evening, and Ms Chu was elected by with over two thirds of Councilors supporting, including her Green Party colleagues, and those from Fianna Fáil, the Social Democrats, the Labour Party and Independents. Hazel succeeds Cllr Tom Brabazon after the completion of his term.

Ms Chu has been actively involved in the Green Party for many years, having become active in her partner Patrick Costello’s first local election camping in 2014. She has served as chair of the national executive, of the party’s women group Mná Glasa and as Party Chair since 2019. In 2019 she was elected to Dublin City Council with the single highest share of the vote of any first time candidate in a local election (33.1%), to represent the Pembroke ward.

Hazel grew up in a household of 9 in Firhouse and later in Celbridge. Her parents migrated to Ireland from Hong Kong in the 1970s. She was the first of her family to finish school and to go to college, studying Politics and History at UCD and trained at the Kings Inns as a barrister.

She takes on the mayoral chain for the coming year, a key one for the Green Party in Dublin as they act to support alternative transport options, fight for cleaner air and for a more liveable city, and as the party enters government at the national level.

She joins other Green mayors taking up their chains around Ireland this year, after the Green Wave hit Ireland in the local elections in 2019. Cllr David Healy recently took up his position as Mayor of Fingal County Council, as did Cllr Una Power in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown.